Winners announced: 2016 AAA Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the 2016 Australian Achievement in Architecture (AAA) Awards on 29 April at a ceremony held at Adelaide Oval.

The Institute’s highest honour, the Gold Medal, was awarded to the founding directors of ARM Architecture, Stephen Ashton, Howard Raggatt and Ian McDougall, for their contemporary, often daring and sometimes controversial designs.

“We’ve always been interested in architecture that tells stories about our lives, about our cities,” said Ian McDougall. “It is humbling to have our ideas acknowledged in this way.”

ARM Architecture has received 63 Institute awards, including twice winning the Sir Zelman Cowen Award for Public Architecture at the 2013 and 2015 National Architecture Awards. In its home state ARM Architecture is a record five-time recipient of the Victorian Architecture Medal.

Established in 1988 and now based in Melbourne and Perth, ARM Architecture has amassed a body of notable public work across the country including Perth Arena (WA) with Cameron Chisholm Nicol, Melbourne Recital Centre and MTC Southbank Theatre (Vic), Hamer Hall redevelopment (Vic), Shrine of Remembrance reconfiguration (Vic) and the recently completed Elizabeth Quay (WA) designed with Taylor Cullity Lethlean.

“This is a practice that has been a genuine leader, influencer, provocateur, culture builder and disseminator of ideas for nearly three decades,” said Jon Clements, national president of the Institute. “At the core of the practice are three outstanding architects who have created some of the most extraordinary buildings in the short post-colonial history of this country.”

Aside from their built work, the three directors have also been involved in education, national conferences and exhibitions. Ashton and McDougall have each been past presidents of the Institute’s Victorian chapter.

Read Vivian Mitsogianni’s reflection on the work of ARM Architecture.

The 2016 AAA Awards also recognized leaders of the architecture profession whose work range from education to sustainability and international endeavours. Below is the full list of winners. Click through to read the jury citations.

Gold Medal – Stephen Ashton, Howard Raggatt and Ian McDougall, ARM Architecture (Vic)

National President’s Prize – Peter Maddison, Grand Designs Australia, Maddison Architects (Vic)

Neville Quarry Architectural Education Prize – Professor Michael Ostwald, University of Newcastle (NSW)

Leadership in Sustainability Prize – Jeremy McLeod, Breathe Architecture (Vic)

National Emerging Architect Prize – Amy Muir, Muir Architecture (Vic)

Student Prize for the Advancement of Architecture – Peter Nguyen, University of Sydney (NSW)

William J. Mitchell International Committee Prize – Brian Burr, architectural renderer (New York)

Dulux Study Tour Prize – Chris Gilbert (Vic), Katy Moir, Troppo Architects (NT), Hannah Slater, Architectus Brisbane (Qld), Qianyi Lim, Sibling (Vic), Mathew van Kooy, John Wardle Architects (Vic)