2014 Newcastle Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the winners of its 2014 Newcastle Architecture Awards on Thursday 6 March, at Merewether Surfhouse. Nine projects from twenty-one entries were recognized. The winning projects now have the opportunity to be presented to the NSW Architecture Awards’ juries for consideration of state honours, to be announced on 26 June 2014.

On the 2014 jury were: Peter Kemp (chair and principle at Kemp Consulting), Ramsey Awad (senior lecturer, School of Architecture and Built Environment, University of Newcastle), Robert Donaldson (trustee, The Architecture Foundation), Alex Kibble (director, Tanner Kibble Denton Architects), Peter Johnson (retired director of EJE Architecture) and graduate Rebecca Boyle.

Public Architecture Awards
- Birubi Point Surf Life Saving Club – EJE Architecture
- Newcastle Museum – Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp (FJMT)

Commercial Architecture Award
Westrac Newcastle Service Centre & Training Institute (Tomago) – EJE Architecture

Residential Architecture – Alts & Adds Award
MacMasters Beach House – Dianna Thomas Architect

Residential Architecture – Alts & Adds Commendation
Hamilton House – Austin McFarland Architects

Residential Architecture – New Houses Award
New Residence The Junction – EJE Architecture

Residential Architecture – New Houses Commendation
Willis House – Killen + Doran Architects

Small Project Award
Maxim Workplace – Space Design Architecture

Small Project Commendation
The University of Newcastle Library Courtyard – CKDS Architecture